Following you will find the answers to the most common questions:


FSTC Europe provides the Dash 8 Q-400 Type Rating course according to EASA regulations.

Entry Requirements for EASA License holders

  • 70 hours as a pilot-in-command of airplanes
  • Valid ME, IR (multi-engine, instrument rating)
  • Valid CPL (ATPL theory) or ATPL
  • Valid Class 1 Medical Certificate
  • MCC certificate of completion
  • English level 4 according to ICAO requirements.  

For ICAO License holders

In case the trainee is an ICAO License Holder, other than EASA, the Pre-Entry requirements will be according to their own License Issued Authority Regulations. 

Additional training

  • LVO (Low Visibility Operations)
  • Extra Sessions

The MCC course can either be integated in your type rating course (please see training footprint) or it can be performed in an FNTP II simulator during your theoretical training.  

DHC8 Q400 Facts you should know

  • The Q400 is also known as the De Havilland Canada Dash-8-400.
  • The "Q" in the name of the jet stands for "Quite.", due to its advanced Active Noise and Vibration Suppression System, which reduces the noise level greatly in the cabin.
  • The Bombardier Q400 is one of the most fuel efficient commercial aircraft on the market.
  • Bombardier took over the production of Dash 8 and put the focus on the design of the Q series after it acquired de Havilland Canada.